Recent Results:

Client facing 15 years for Armed Robbery we proved misidentification Judge DISMISSED the case!

Client allegedly sold rock cocaine to undercover officer faced 10 years following our argument client received NO JAIL TIME!

Police allegedly discovered 3 bags of marijuana in client's glove box faced 6 years we filed a 1538.5 motion to suppress resulting in DISMISSAL of all charges!

Client's estranged girlfriend alleged Client broke into her room and choked her facing 14 years in State Prison we won at trial JURY ACQUITTAL.

Strike case: Client charged with possession of methamphetamine facing 25 years we filed a Romero Motion which was granted case REDUCED TO MISDEMEANOR!

Client facing 3 life terms for multiple felony counts of Child Molestation and Sodomy with child we proved the charges were fabricated by victims mother DISMISSAL of all charges at preliminary hearing!

Client facing 5 years for possession of deadly weapon we negotiated a plea for NO JAIL TIME!

Multiple defendants each facing 7 years charged with smuggling prescription drugs into California from Mexico our client was the only defendant who received NO JAIL TIME!

Contact Us Today for a Free Consultation

1-800-755-5174

Statutory Rape: California Penal Code 261.5             

Statutory Rape (CA Penal Code 261.5 PC) is the unlawful engagement of sexual intercourse with a minor (anyone under the age of eighteen). You can be charged with statutory rape even if the minor initiated intercourse and it was consensual.

Like other sex crimes, statutory rape is usually charged after an accusation happens. Many times false accusations formed out of anger, jealousy or misunderstandings cause these charges to fall upon innocent people.

In order for the prosecutor to prove that you are guilty of statutory rape, he must prove that you had sexual intercourse with a person who is under eighteen years of age and you were not married at the time. Unlike an ordinary rape charge, the prosecution does not have to prove there was any force used or that the intercourse was nonconsensual. The age difference between the parties will have an effect on the penalties you could receive.

Statutory rape may be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor. If you and the "victim's" age difference is no more than three years it will be charged as a misdemeanor, if the age difference is larges than three years it may be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony.

In case of a misdemeanor charge, the most common penalties are a maximum sentence of one year in jail, up to a thousand dollar in fines, and summary probation. If it is a felony charge, the penalties are more severe, a potential prison sentence of up to four years, up to ten thousand dollars in fines, and probation.

There are many defenses that can be used to fight a statutory rape charge. An experienced attorney from the Law Office of David Chesley can help you determine the best course of action to take on your case. For example, many people facing these charges did not know the person they engaged in intercourse with was a minor (the defendant might have met a minor at an adult venue), false accusation are also very common in these cases. Unlike an ordinary rape charge consent is not a defense.

CA. Penal Code 261.5 PC

(a) Unlawful sexual intercourse is an act of sexual intercourse accomplished with a person who is not the spouse of the perpetrator, if the person is a minor. For the purposes of this section, a "minor" is a person under the age of 18 years and an "adult" is a person who is at least 18 years of age.

(b) Any person who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor who is not more than three years older or three years younger than the perpetrator, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

(c) Any person who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor who is more than three years younger than the perpetrator is guilty of either a misdemeanor or a felony, and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170.

(d) Any person 21 years of age or older who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor who is under 16 years of age is guilty of either a misdemeanor or a felony, and shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for two, three, or four years.

(e) (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, an adult who engages in an act of sexual intercourse with a minor in violation of this section may be liable for civil penalties in the following amounts:

(A) An adult who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor less than two years younger than the adult is liable for a civil penalty not to exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000).

(B) An adult who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor at least two years younger than the adult is liable for a civil penalty not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000).

(C) An adult who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor at least three years younger than the adult is liable for a civil penalty not to exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

(D) An adult over the age of 21 years who engages in an act of unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor under 16 years of age is liable for a civil penalty not to exceed twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000).

(2) The district attorney may bring actions to recover civil penalties pursuant to this subdivision. From the amounts collected for each case, an amount equal to the costs of pursuing the action shall be deposited with the treasurer of the county in which the judgment was entered, and the remainder shall be deposited in the Underage Pregnancy Prevention Fund, which is hereby created in the State Treasury. Amounts deposited in the Underage Pregnancy Prevention Fund may be used only for the purpose of preventing underage pregnancy upon appropriation by the Legislature.

(3) In addition to any punishment imposed under this section, the judge may assess a fine not to exceed seventy dollars ($70) against any person who violates this section with the proceeds of this fine to be used in accordance with Section 1463.23. The court shall, however, take into consideration the defendant's ability to pay, and no defendant shall be denied probation because of his or her inability to pay the fine permitted under this subdivision.

  • Los Angeles County
  • Orange County
  • Riverside County
  • San Bernadino County
  • San Diego County
  • Ventura County

AFFORDABLE RATES

  • : like us
  • : follow us
  • : +1 us
  • : link to us

Office Locations

Main Office:
Law Offices of David S. Chesley, Inc.
A Professional Law Corporation
4533 Van Nuys Boulevard, Second Floor
Sherman Oaks, CA 91403

Additional offices in the Counties of Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego and Ventura.

 
Real Time Analytics