Client facing 15 years for Armed Robbery we proved misidentification Judge DISMISSED the case!
Client allegedly sold rock cocaine to undercover officer faced 10 years following our argument client received NO JAIL TIME!
Police allegedly discovered 3 bags of marijuana in client's glove box faced 6 years we filed a 1538.5 motion to suppress resulting in DISMISSAL of all charges!
Client's estranged girlfriend alleged Client broke into her room and choked her facing 14 years in State Prison we won at trial JURY ACQUITTAL.
Strike case: Client charged with possession of methamphetamine facing 25 years we filed a Romero Motion which was granted case REDUCED TO MISDEMEANOR!
Client facing 3 life terms for multiple felony counts of Child Molestation and Sodomy with child we proved the charges were fabricated by victims mother DISMISSAL of all charges at preliminary hearing!
Client facing 5 years for possession of deadly weapon we negotiated a plea for NO JAIL TIME!
Multiple defendants each facing 7 years charged with smuggling prescription drugs into California from Mexico our client was the only defendant who received NO JAIL TIME!
Contact Us Today for a Free Consultation1-800-755-5174
Hit and Run (Cal. Vehicle Code Section 20002) accidents are the result of one party causing damage to another party's property or person and leaving the scene before producing the proper driver documentation. Hit and Run charges can be both misdemeanors and felonies, depending on the seriousness of the accident. In California, the driver of any motor vehicle that has been involved in an accident or collision, regardless of the level of seriousness or extent of injury, must stop, find the owner of the damaged property and produce his or her driver documentation. Failing to do so could result in criminal charges for California Hit and Run. California Hit and Run charges can be classified as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the seriousness of the accident, extent of damage, and defendant's past criminal record.
For minor traffic accidents, such as fender benders and other minimal property damage with no physical injuries, a misdemeanor charge is the most likely assessment. According to California Law, a Hit and Run Misdemeanor is defined as, "a failure to immediately stop at the scene of a motor vehicle accident resulting in property damage."
When Hit and Run results in bodily injury or death, a felony will be charged. According to California Law, a Hit and Run Felony is defined as, "a failure to immediately stop at the scene of a motor vehicle accident involving death or permanent injury to any person(s) associated with the accident."
Calif. Vehicle Code Section 20002: When an accident results only in property damage (including motor vehicles), driver must stop and locate owner or person in charge and exchange driver documentation. If owner of damaged property cannot be located, the driver is not permitted to leave the scene of the accident until the following actions have been completed:
a) Leave a note with facts surrounding the case and driver documentation information;
b) Report the accident to the California Highway Patrol (CHP) or local police.
Calif. Vehicle Code Section 20001, 20003, and 20004: Any accident that involves injury or death mandates the driver to perform all actions included in Section 20002 plus render reasonable assistance to the injured party or parties.
The California Law regarding Hit and Run has no exceptions. The types of accidents that are eligible for Hit and Run charges range from simple fender benders on parked, unoccupied vehicles to accidents involving death or serious injury.
The best way to avoid a California Hit and Run charge is to stop after an accident or collision and immediately exchange your driver documentation. If the damaged property is unoccupied, leaving a visible note with your contact information and facts surrounding the case is acceptable. In all cases, the police must be notified!
Depending on whether a hit and run misdemeanor or hit & run felony is charged, penalties for hit and run range from no jail time (plus fines and restitution) to one year in jail and, with more serious cases, time in California state prison. We are experienced in defending California Hit and Run cases. For first time offenders, our clients rarely serve jail time. In some cases, we work out an agreement with the victim, Judge, and District Attorney, called a "civil compromise", which results in a dismissal of the defendant's criminal proceedings.
Law Offices of David S. Chesley, Inc.
A Professional Law Corporation
4533 Van Nuys Boulevard, Second Floor
Sherman Oaks, CA 91403
Additional offices in the Counties of Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego and Ventura.